"To Kill a Mockingbird"

To kill a mockingbird chapter summary

“To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee is a classic novel set in the 1930s in Maycomb, Alabama. The story is narrated by Scout Finch, a young girl growing up in a small town with her brother Jem and their father Atticus, a respected lawyer.

Chapter 1: The story begins with Scout introducing the town of Maycomb and her family. Scout, Jem, and their friend Dill are fascinated by their reclusive neighbor, Boo Radley.

Chapter 2: Scout starts school and is disappointed by her teacher’s rigid teaching style. Scout gets in trouble with her teacher for already knowing how to read.

Chapter 3: Scout is curious about the Radley house and the mysterious Boo Radley. Jem tells Scout and Dill about Boo’s alleged crimes and they become more fascinated.

Chapter 4: Jem and Scout find mysterious presents in a tree outside the Radley house. They start to suspect that Boo Radley might not be as scary as everyone says.

Chapter 5: Scout begins to have doubts about Atticus’s wisdom when he tells her not to bother the Radleys. Jem decides to try to get a glimpse of Boo by peeking into a window of the Radley house.

Chapter 6: Jem and Dill’s plan to see Boo Radley fails when they are caught by Boo’s reclusive brother, Nathan Radley. Jem loses his pants while fleeing the scene.

Chapter 7: Jem and Scout find that Nathan Radley has filled the knothole in the tree with cement, sealing off their connection to Boo.

Chapter 8: A fire breaks out in Miss Maudie’s house and Scout realizes that Boo Radley has been leaving the presents for them in the tree.

Chapter 9: Atticus is assigned to defend Tom Robinson, a black man accused of raping a white woman. The town is divided over the case, with many people outraged that Atticus is defending a black man.

Chapter 10: Jem and Scout receive air rifles for Christmas and Atticus tells them that it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird because they only sing and bring joy to people.

Chapter 11: The trial of Tom Robinson begins and Jem, Scout, and Dill sneak into the courthouse to watch.

Chapter 12: Jem and Scout discover that their father is not as old as they thought he was, and they begin to understand more about the prejudices of the town.

Chapter 13: Aunt Alexandra comes to live with the family and tries to mold Scout into a proper Southern lady. Scout resists, but Jem begins to embrace the ideals of the town.

Chapter 14: Dill runs away from home and hides in Scout’s room. Scout and Dill discover that Jem has gone to the courthouse to watch the trial again.

Chapter 15: Atticus is threatened by a group of men who disagree with his defense of Tom Robinson. Scout, Jem, and Dill go to the courthouse to protect their father.

Chapter 16: The trial continues and Atticus cross-examines the prosecution’s witnesses, revealing inconsistencies in their stories.

Chapter 17: Tom Robinson takes the stand and tells his version of events. He explains that he was just trying to help the victim, Mayella Ewell and that she made advances toward him.

Chapter 18: Atticus makes a strong closing argument, but the jury still finds Tom Robinson guilty.

Chapter 19: Tom Robinson is sent to prison and the town reacts with hostility towards the Finch family.

Chapter 20: Atticus tries to explain the verdict to his children, but they don’t understand why Tom Robinson was found guilty.

Also, read Who discovered proton

Share this article:
Previous Post: CBSE full form

March 31, 2023 - In general

Next Post: Orbital engineering servers columns

April 1, 2023 - In general

1 Comment

  • Orbital engineering servers columns - EngineeringHulk
    April 1, 2023

    […] Also, read the To kill a mockingbird chapter summary […]

Comments are closed.